Bases for Plinth

I have been working on a series of cardboard maquettes to further refine my design before I scale it up. 

 I have been specifically thinking about the base and how the work relates to the ground. I want the transition from sculpture to ground to be as seamless as possible.

 I have thought about the addition of a lattice structure of roots that could sink into the ground and pin the figures down, although this changes the meaning somehow. The relationship between figures and load becomes more symbiotic with roots attached and I want there to be a stronger sense of conflict or opposition. 

I am returning to my original concept of placing the seated figures directly on the ground as I like the simplicity.

I will need to take the maquettes in to the garden and see what they look like there!

Leave a Reply

